Historic Timeline

1846Webb Chapel School, Farmers Branch
1856“Rainwater College,” Carrollton Union School, Carrollton
1890The Carrollton Academy, Carrollton
1900Carrollton School, Belt Line at Erie
1901State of Texas authorizes establishment of local school districts
1902Creation of the Carrollton Independent School District,
1903Creation of the Farmers Branch Independent School District
1904Farmers Branch School, Valley View Lane
1916New Carrollton School (red brick building)
1918Trinity Mills Common School District consolidates with Carrollton ISD
1936Carrollton High School (current DeWitt Perry)
1948Hackberry Independent School District consolidates with the Carrollton ISD
1951Carrollton Elementary School
1954Farmers Branch Independent School District consolidates with the Carrollton ISD
1955Valwood Elementary School
1956R. E. Good Elementary School
1959Webb Chapel Elementary School
1960Vivian Field Middle School
1962R. L. Turner High School, Former Carrollton High School recognized as DeWitt Perry Junior High School
1963School district’s name officially changed to Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
1964Janie Stark Elementary School
1965Central Elementary School
1967Farmers Branch Elementary School (on Tom Field Road)
1968Name of Webb Chapel Elementary School changed to Neil Ray McLaughlin Elementary
1971L. F. Blanton Elementary School
1974Woodlake Elementary School (now June R. Thompson Elementary School)
1975Former Farmers Branch school building opened as Valley View Learning Center to house alternative high school program; Newman Smith High School; Dale B. Davis Elementary School; Country Place Elementary School
1978McCoy Elementary School
1979North Carrollton Junior High School
1980Furneaux Elementary School
1981Name of Valwood Elementary School changed to L. P. Montgomery Elementary School
1983Rosemeade Elementary School; New district administration building opened on Perry Road; Special Education center opened in old administration building on Walnut Street
1985Blalack Junior High School, Sheffield Elementary School
1986Las Colinas Elementary School
1988Name of North Carrollton Junior High changed to Dan F. Long Middle School
1989E. L. Kent Elementary School; Sheffield Elementary School changed to Sheffield Primary School; Sheffield Intermediate School
1993Charles C. McKamy Elementary School
1994Annie Heads Rainwater Elementary School
1995Name of Woodlake Elementary changed in honor of June R. Thompson, the school’s first principal
1996Tom Landry Elementary School
1997Ted Polk Middle School
1998Creekview High School, Barbara Bush Middle School
2000Riverchase Elementary School
2001Kathryn S. McWhorter Elementary School
2002Dave Blair Intermediate School
2002Ranchview High School
2004Bernice Chatman Freeman Elementary
2006Early College High School opened on Brookhaven College Campus
2007Community Learning Complex/CLC Pre-Kindergarten Center
2007Kelly Pre-Kindergarten Center
2007New L. F. Blanton Elementary School opens
2007New Janie Stark Elementary School opens
2008Nancy Strickland Intermediate School
2008LaVillita Elementary School
2010L. P. Montgomery School closed as an elementary school; Dave Blair Intermediate School changes names to Dave Blair Elementary School, becoming an elementary school serving grades K through  5
2010CLC Pre-Kindergarten Center closed
2012Pre-kindergarten classes no longer held at Kelly Center
2012Community Learning Complex name changed to Educational Services Division Complex when the Division of Educational Services relocates to the building
2012New R. E. Good Elementary School building opens.
2014New Las Colinas Elementary opens; Old Building is demolished
2014Freeman Elementary Additions
2016La Villita Elementary Additions
2016Bush Middle School Additions
2016Ranchview High School Additions